Lowland League – 22-23

The Scottish Lowland League was instituted in 2013 and sits immediately below Scottish League Two in the SFA’s “pyramid”, parallel with the Highland League.

This season it will operate with nineteen member clubs playing each other home and away.  Bottom club Vale of Leithen and they have been replaced by East of Scotland League champions Tranent Juniors.

Cowdenbeath are also new following their relegation from League Two.

Controversially, the ‘one season only’ experiment of include the B teams of Celtic and Rangers will continue into this season, and they will be joined by Heart of Midlothian B.

A further change is another change of name for Broomhill (formerly BSC Glasgow) who will henceforth be known as Open Goal Broomhill.

The League champions play off against the Highland champions for the right to challenge League Two’s bottom club for a place in the SPFL.  Bonnyrigg Rose became the third club to win promotion via this route in last season.

2022-23 COMPETITION (2016-17, 2017-18, 2018-19, 2019-20, 2020-21, 2021-22)

Competing clubs: Berwick Rangers, Bo’ness United, Caledonian Braves, Celtic B, Civil Service Strollers, Cowdenbeath, Cumbernauld Colts, Dalbeattie Star, East Kilbride, East Stirlingshire, Edinburgh University, Gala Fairydean Rovers, Gretna 2008, Heart of Midlothian B, Open Goal Broomhill, Rangers B, Spartans, Stirling University, Tranent Juniors


fixtures to be announced